Creative Challenge: Jessica’s story

Jessica van Twuiver, studying Fashion Promotion and Imaging, said “My project developed from holiday in Greece. In Zakynthos I went to the ship wreck bay: the island is a true paradise but it has a dark side; the effects of mass tourism. I saw stray animals, abandoned buildings and I linked this with how I feel about the fashion industry. There is a dark side; there is waste, the cruelty of the fur industry and horrible conditions of the people who make clothes. My project is to establish an eco-friendly luxury range of fashion lingerie; against animal cruelty, pro-fair wages, locally produced using low impact fabrics and materials. I believe if we can each make a little difference and start to inspire others, then together we can make a big difference.”

